I Voted for Rory

December 7, 2006

rory_71925

Not the Gilmore girl. But Rory Fitzpatrick, defensemen of my beloved Vancouver Canucks.

This was funny when I first heard about it last week. It’s getting funnier and funnier.

If you don’t know, the NHL allows fans to cast votes for players to make the starting line up for the annual All-Star Game (six players for the West, six for the East).  Usually fans pick star players…hem…obviously.  But Fitzpatrick is an average-joe player.  He’s just good “at what he does.”  He’s the type of player that never should even be considered!  But he is…and he’s gaining steam.  I love underdogs.

This story at TSN.ca made me laugh! Roberto Luongo voted for him “five times.” Ha!!

I sure hope he gets in.

Here’s the website that started it all: www.voteforrory.com.

Please vote. =)

11 Responses to “I Voted for Rory”

  1. Char said

    i’ll vote for him if he votes for trev, olly, and sammi 114,000 times each.

  2. boo you char. your votes are conditional. boo boo. Plus, trevor should retire. 😛

  3. Dave Nonis said

    Every team has a Rory, hard working, not particularly well known. I wouldn’t say that Rory is ‘good at what he does’, none of the Canucks are really ‘good’ at what they do. So, my vote goes to Derek Meech, D, Red Wings. Btw, Rory might be the only Canuck that makes it to the All-Star and that only because of a campaign.

  4. Yvonne said

    Oh PJ. Always so bitter that you can’t be cheering on the Canucks with us here in the good old Lower Mainland. Don’t be jealous just because you’re stuck in a place where “coffee” is pronounced “cwohhhfeeeee”. We know you miss us, but this is too much!

    PS: Red Wings suck! Unless they are deliciously roasted by the Canucks… in which case… yum 🙂

  5. PJ said

    Bitter ??!! I love it when you guys blog about the Canuckleheads … lol. I want to hear from J, we can spar on your site … hahaha. 3 weeks later (from the time you first lamented them) and they are still “stinking it up the ice”, except, things are even worst, they are averaging less than a point a game. What will it take to convince an intelligent rational person like you Y, that your team is spiralling down the toilet and that they’ve milked their fans … for the 2nd season in a row.

  6. PJ said

    I just re-read my comment above and I take it all back! The Canucks rock! The Red Wings are okay too but only because I’m a little younger than Chris Chelios. I stress “little”.

  7. = m = said

    I find it interesting that you know about Rory the Gilmore girl! ^_~

  8. Hi =m=!
    Yes, I am aware of Rory Gilmore because my fiance likes watching the show.

    Oh. Ottawa 3 Detroit 2
    Oh.. Phoenix 2 Vancouver 5

    Hasek’s career is flopping–much like his goaltending style. =P Take that!

  9. PJ said

    Wow Jason, that’s a really good one, hard to find a comeback … how about:

    Hasek GAA 1.89, Salary

  10. PJ said

    Part II …
    Hasek GAA 1.89, Salary

  11. pj said

    Part II …
    Hasek GAA 1.89 Salary

Leave a comment